Week Six – Revising My GAME Plan

I have learned that though sometimes bothersome, using the GAME (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009) plan pneumonic is a blessing. “A fair amount of focused practice” is necessary to master a skill says Marzano, Pickering, & Pollock (2001), and looking back at a lifetime of pursuits only those that were repeated many times stayed with me.  Because of practicing use of the GAME plan in my studies, I have learned to appreciate its simplicity and have decided to use it in the classroom. Using a graphic organizer and the computer to collaborate, we will work towards self-directed learning (Cennamo et al., 2009) through the GAME plan, and as practice shapes learning and understanding (Marzano et al., 2001), we will adjust the plan to any task.

At this point in my plan, new learning goals must wait until I prove to myself I have reached my first two goals. Thanks to technology, “promoting creativity” and “reflection using collaborative tools” (NETS-T 2.a. & 1.c.) can encompass many of the standards that I must teach my students. I look forward to focusing on transforming my classroom from teacher-centered to student-centered, and the transition will be smoother if I concentrate on just the two goals.

The learning approaches that I will try next time to improve my learning are to continue to discover, practice, and make available new technologies for my students. My eyes continue to be opened with every passing week. What is my latest revelation? After viewing Lefevre’s “Social Networking in Plain English,” I have adjusted my thinking regarding Twitter and decided that it just may improve communications with my busy children, who are grown and away from home. What a great learning experience: how to stay connected with the kids. Technology instructs outside of the classroom too.

Steph

References:

Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2010). Technology integration for meaningful classroom use: A standards-based

          approach. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

Marzano, R., Pickering, D. & Pollock, J. (2001) Classroom instruction that works. Alexandria, VA: McRel.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Week Six – Revising My GAME Plan

  1. Kelly Dircks

    The GAME plan is an effective way to develop an action plan (Cennamo, Ross & Ertmer, 2009). Being able to establish an action plan, reflect and modify via the GAME plan is a tool that will serve our students well both in K-12 and beyond!

    Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2010). Technology integration for meaningful classroom use: A standards-based

    approach. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

    • stephaniedyer

      I totally agree, Kelly. Its simplicity works best for me as I am sure it will for the students. I am sure they have been exposed to quite a few memory devices, which can unfortunately may lead to remembering less.

      Thanks for sharing,
      Steph

Leave a Reply

