Carrying Out my GAME Plan

On my July 8th post, I determined to relieve my students’ learned-helplessness and my own learned-helpfulness through a GAME plan or goals, actions, monitoring, and evaluation (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009). What have I done in the past week to achieve that plan?

            First I have perused the British Lit teacher’s edition to revisit the literary movements, the six units, and the standards that apply to them. I have already reworked the Anglo-Saxon and Medieval period, unit one, to review reading strategies, elements of a narrative, and structural elements of poetry. My lesson revisions include authentic projects that allow differentiation to struggling readers, English learners, and talented and gifted students. Luckily our year-old textbooks include audio CD’s for less-proficient readers, “best-practices” tool kits for differentiation of any sort, and many ideas for advanced learners. The fact that I will use student-centered learning projects with designated goals and a choice of activities along with specific checkpoints to monitor and evaluate gives me confidence that I am teaching my students to critically think or learn to learn.

            Next steps include planning a time line; developing specific lessons, rubrics, and projects for each of the six units; designating appropriate web sites and available technology; contacting the technology department to assure online access to sites; and signing up for the media center to “provide equitable access” (2009, p. 171) to all my students.

            My plan is to monitor myself and give myself scores of 1-5 during the year for poor to great lessons. This week I am giving my own learning a four as I am quickly (at least in thinking, planning, and reflecting) moving from thinking about how to teach to thinking about how to teach learning.

            I am looking forward to implementing my GAME plan this August and having more time to focus on implementation post graduation this December.

Steph  

 

References:

Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2010). Technology integration for meaningful classroom

            use: A standards-based approach. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Carrying Out my GAME Plan

  1. Kelly Dircks

    You’ve made so much progress! I’m impressed (and a bit jealous).

    I think it would be interesting to have the students rate your lessons as well. They might have interesting input!

  2. stephaniedyer

    Thanks, Kelly. I have been working hard.

    I have thought about having my students rate my lessons, but haven’t quite gotten the self-assurance I need yet. Walden is definitely helping with that. I am excited to use my new skills in the classroom. I only hope our seemingly antiquated Internet server will cooperate.

Leave a Reply

